TPA banner for the Marquee Special on Progzilla Radio

The Marquee Club [Audio Special]

The Marquee Club, 90 Wardour Street, London. This iconic music venue, founded in 1958 and residing in prime London real estate from 1964 to 1988, launched the careers of generations of rock acts, including progressive greats such as Genesis, Yes, King Crimson, Barclay James Harvest, Pink Floyd and Supertramp, and also the neo-progressive movement that followed in the early 1980s.

This two-hour radio special by TPA’s Richard Swan (in conjunction with Progzilla Radio), first broadcast on 19th March 2023 on Shaun Geraghty’s The Prog Mill, showcases the ‘Big Six’ from that early-’80s era, namely Solstice, Marillion, Pallas, IQ, Pendragon and Twelfth Night. Take a trip down Memory Lane and rediscover the live performances from these bands, with a couple of surprises thrown in too.

Progzilla Podcast banner

Click HERE to listen to The Marquee Special on The Prog Mill (Progzilla Radio)

The Marquee Club Special – Track Listing

Part One:
(Intro) Pendragon: Elephants Never Grow Old | from The Rest of Pendragon || Twelfth Night: This City | from Fact and Fiction
01. Solstice: Find Yourself (Live) | from Silent Dance
02. Marillion: Forgotten Sons (Live 1982) | from Script for A Jester’s Tear
03. Pendragon: The Black Knight (Live) | from 9:15 Live
04. Pallas: Queen of the Deep | from Arrive Alive
05. Twelfth Night: East to West, Live at The Target, segueing into Fact and Fiction/The Poet Sniffs A Flower | from Live and Let Live
06. Solstice: Sunrise (Live) | from Silent Dance

Part Two:
(Intro) Twelfth Night: Sequences | from Live at The Target
07. IQ: Awake and Nervous | from Living Proof
08. Howard Jones: Hunt the Self (Live) | from Human’s Lib
09. Genesis: The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway/Watcher of the Skies | from Live at The Marquee, 27th Sep 1982 (Genesis – The Mov’t)
10. Marillion: Script for A Jester’s Tear (Live 1982) | from Script for A Jester’s Tear
11. Pendragon: Alaska | from 9:15 Live
12. Solstice: Morning Light (Live) | from New Life
13. Twelfth Night: Sequences, segueing into Love Song | from Live and Let Live

The Prog Mill – Website | Facebook
Progzilla Radio – Website | Facebook | Twitter