The Psychedelic Seeds Of - The Prog Mill - TPA banner

The Psychedelic Seeds of Prog [Audio Feature]

TPA / The Prog Mill – The Psychedelic Seeds of Prog, presented by Leo Trimming of The Progressive Aspect and first broadcast on The Prog Mill (Progzilla Radio) on Sunday 14th January 2024 – available as TPA audio content in a Progzilla Podcast, now available to play anytime you like or download.

Two hours of superb psychedelic rock music from 1966 up to 1970, exploring the music from which grew the early seeds of progressive rock.

The show includes a superb 70-minute ‘song cycle’ with non-stop music interspersed by audio clips and film excerpts, partly relevant to the music and era… and some are just entertaining!

The Psychedelic Seeds Of Prog [Audio Feature]

Click HERE to listen to The Psychedelic Seeds Of Prog (Progzilla Radio)


Part One
01. Blue Honey (Edit)Pop Levi – from ‘Mojo Presents A Monstrous Psychedelic Bubble Exploding In Your Head’ (2007) by The Amorphous Androgynous
02. You’re Gonna Miss MeThe 13th Floor Elevators – single release (1966)
03. I Had Too Much to Dream Last NightThe Electric Prunes – single release (1967)
04. See Emily PlayPink Floyd – single release (1967)
05. ‘Definition of Psychedelic Music’ – Marc Riley & Rob Hughes – from A-Z of Psychedelia BBC 6 Music (2018)
06. Purple HazeJimi Hendrix – single release (1967)
07. Green TambourineThe Lemon Pipers – single release (1967)
08. Mr. Tambourine ManThe Byrds – from Mr. Tambourine Man (1965)
09. Garden of Earthly DelightsThe United States of America – from The United States of America (1968)
10. Tales of Brave UlyssesCream – from Disreali Gears (1967)
11. Incense and PeppermintsStrawberry Alarm Clock – single release (1967)
12. Alone Again Or Love – from Forever Changes (1968)
13. Time of the SeasonThe Zombies – from Odessey and Oracle (1968) (NB The mis-spelling of ‘Odyssey’ is by the band’s artist and NOT me – they decided to keep it!)
14. Granny Takes a TripThe Purple Gang – single release (1967)
15. Strawberry Fields ForeverThe Beatles – single release (1967)

(Part 2) – Song Cycle
‘Psychedelic Seeds of Prog’

01. Tomorrow Never KnowsThe Beatles – from Revolver (1966)
02. I Feel FreeThe Cream – single release (1966)
03. All Along the WatchtowerJimi Hendrix from Electric Ladyland (1968)
04. White RabbitJefferson Airplane – from Surrealistic Pillow (1967)
05. Good VibrationsThe Beach Boys – single release (1966)
06. She’s a RainbowThe Rolling Stones – from Their Satanic Majesties Request (1967)
07. Itchycoo ParkThe Small Faces – single release (1967)
08. Light My FireThe Doors – from The Doors (1967)
09. Eight Miles HighThe Byrds – from Fifth Dimension (1966)
10. Astronomy DominePink Floyd – from Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967)
11. A Day in the LifeThe Beatles – from Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967)
12. Nights in White SatinThe Moody Blues – from Days of Future Passed (1967)
13. Amazing Journey / Sparks (edit)The Who – from Tommy (1969)
14. Space OddityDavid Bowie – from David Bowie (commonly known as ‘Space Oddity’) (1969)
15. EpitaphKing Crimson – from In the Court of the Crimson King (1969)
16. Lucky ManEmerson, Lake and Palmer – from Emerson, Lake and Palmer (1970)

First broadcast on 14th January 2024 – now permanently available on the Specials Podcasts Section on Progzilla Radio.

The Prog Mill – Website | Facebook
Progzilla Radio – Website | Facebook | Twitter