Featured Jethro Tull 40th Anniversary Edition of Heavy Horses

Published on 11th December 2017

Jethro Tull 40th Anniversary Edition of Heavy Horses

Article by:

2018 marks fifty years of Jethro Tull and kicking off the celebrations will be a 40th anniversary ‘New Shoes Edition’ of Heavy Horses – a 3CD/2DVD box-set to be released by Parlophone Records on 9th February 2018. This edition will feature the original album, plus additional studio recordings, live material and an extensive new booklet.

Released between Songs From The Wood (1977) and Stormwatch (1979), Heavy Horses was the second of a trilogy of folk rock albums from Jethro Tull. Lead singer and flautist Ian Anderson explained its particular focus on horses and agricultural life saying, “As a child, my big passion was to get off the leash and explore the local wooded and leafy suburbs. So it didn’t suddenly become new in 1977, it was just that the subject matter fitted what I wanted to write about at the time.”

This anniversary edition features the original album with nine additional bonus tracks, seven of which are previously unreleased. The ‘New Shoes Edition’ also contains a live concert from May 1978, and two DVDs which feature the original, bonus and live tracks all mixed to surround sound by Steven Wilson and Jakko Jakszyk. A 96-page booklet covers a history of the album and corresponding tour, complete lyrics, rare photos and exclusive interviews.

CD1 [A Steven Wilson Stereo Remix]

01. …And The Mouse Police Never Sleeps
02. Acres Wild
03. No Lullaby
04. Moths
05. Journeyman
06. Rover
07. One Brown Mouse
08. Heavy Horses
09. Weathercock
Associated Recordings
01. Living In These Hard Times (Version Two)*
02. Everything In Our Lives*
03. Jack A Lynn* (early version)
04. Quatrain* (studio version)
05. Horse-Hoeing Husbandry*
06. Beltane
07. Botanic Man*
08. Living In These Hard Times (Version One)
09. Botanic Man Theme*
* Previously unreleased material

CD2 [Live In Concert In Berne, Switzerland, May 1978 – Part One]
A Jacko Jakszyk stereo remix

01. Opening Music (Quartet)
02. Introduction by Claude Nobs
03. No Lullaby
04. Sweet Dream
05. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
06. Jack In The Green
07. One Brown Mouse
08. Heavy Horses
09. A New Day Yesterday
10. Flute Solo Improvisation / God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen / Bouree
11. Living In The Past / A New Day Yesterday (reprise)
12. Songs From The Wood

CD3 [Live In Concert In Berne, Switzerland, May 1978 – Part Two]
01. Thick As A Brick
02. Hunting Girl
03. Too Old To Rock ‘n’ Roll
04. Conundrum
05. Minstrel In The Gallery
06. Cross Eyed Mary
07. Quatrain
08. Aqualung
09. Locomotive Breath
10. Dambusters March / Aqualung (reprise)

DVD 1 [Audio/Video]
Heavy Horses full album plus the additional:

• Living In These Hard Times (versions 1 & 2)
• Everything In Our Lives
• Jack-A-Lynn
• Horse-Hoeing Husbandry
• Beltane
• Botanic Man & Botanic Man
• Quatrain (stereo only)
• Mixed 5.1 DTS & DD surround sound and 96/24 LPCM stereo.

DVD 2 [Audio]
Jethro Tull recorded live to 24 track at The Festhalle, Berne, Switzerland by The Maison Rouge Mobile mixed to 5.1 DTS & DD surround sound and 48/24 LPCM stereo

Promotional video footage for the tracks Heavy Horses & Moths. and 2 period TV ads.

SOURCE: Jethro Tull


Back to Top ↑