Colin Bass, perhaps most recognised as bassi..." /> Colin Bass – At Wild End second pressing – The Progressive Aspect – TPA

Featured Colin Bass

Published on 15th October 2015

Colin Bass – At Wild End second pressing

Article by:

Colin Bass, perhaps most recognised as bassist with Camel, recently released his latest solo album, At Wild End, after a successful crowd-funding campaign earlier this year. His latest offering, the third under his own name, is his first release in 12 years. Colin has now offered a tentative “second pressing” release date of 1st November 2015.

Recording sessions took place last spring at Wild End Studio near Llanrwst, and Bryn Derwen Studio in Bethesda, where Bass was joined by an outstanding cast of old and new musician friends to complete an eclectic and very personal set of songs written since his move to the Welsh countryside.

Colin BassLuminous guests on the album include Camel colleagues Andrew Latimer & Dave Stewart, 3 Mustaphas3 conspirators, Kim Burton & Ben Mandelson, and Welsh luminaries Sian James and Lisa Jen Brown, among many others. The album titled ‘At Wild End’ was released in September and is now available via the artist’s website and via selected independent distributors.

Bass says about the project: “‘At Wild End’ is inspired by a magical place nestling in the Snowdonia foothills in North Wales. It’s a place that inspires reflection and some of the songs reflect my musical adventures over the years.

As an independent production – no record company involved – I had to take the step of launching a crowdfunding campaign to help finance it; the support I received from fans was really heart-warming and this kind of backing really spurred me on.”

London-born Colin Bass is a musician, award-winning record producer and songwriter. Since 1979 he has been a member of the British progressive-rock band Camel, who have recently returned to active touring
with three sold out European tours since 2013 after a 10-year break. From 1984 to 1992 he was also a core figure in the pioneering World Music group 3Mustaphas3. He has released two solo albums under his own
name and three albums recorded in Indonesia under the name Sabah Habas Mustapha. The title track of the first, ‘Denpasar Moon’, became a hugely popular song in Indonesia in the mid-90s and has been covered by
over 50 Indonesian, Malaysian, and Japanese artists. As a guest musician he has appeared on albums by a number of internationally acclaimed artists including top Malian singing star Oumou Sangare and French-Algerian chaabi veteran Maurice El Medioni. As a record producer he has worked with a diverse range of international artists including: The Klezmatics (USA), Sambasunda (Indonesia), Etran Finatawa (Niger),
Daniel Kahn & the Painted Bird (USA), the Krar Collective (Ethiopia), and most recently with Welsh band 9Bach (winning ‘Best Album’ at the 2015 BBC Radio2 Folk Awards).

He now lives in the Conwy Valley, near Llanrwst in North Wales, where he is producer/engineer at Wild End Studio.

Colin Bass - At Wild EndTRACK LISTING

01. Return To Earth [4:30]
02. We Are One [5:55]
03. Walking To Santiago [6:46]
04. Waiting For Someone [4:10]
05. In Another Time [1:48]
06. Szegereli Eternal [4:53]
07. Darkness On Leather Lake [5:03]
08. Bubuka Bridge [1:54]
09. If I Could Stay [5:59]
10. Girl From The Northwest Country [4:35]
11. Up At Sheep’s Bleat [2:51]
12. At Wild End [8:12]

Total Time: 56:36

Photos: © Lenya Bass


Back to Top ↑