Featured Solstice Coil

Published on 29th May 2015

Solstice Coil to release Commute

Article by:

Founded in late 2001, Solstice Coil is one of the most veteran bands currently operating in Israel’s progressive rock and metal scene. Dedicated to the notion of combining intellectually challenging music with reflective lyrics and high production values, the band draws its influence from artists such as Radiohead, Muse, Porcupine Tree, Oceansize, The Mars Volta and Dream Theater.

The band’s debut album, ‘A Prescription for Paper Cuts’ (2005), was well received by the global progressive rock community. The album received several awards and the band was invited to play at the Spirit of 66′ club in Belgium under the ‘2006 Prog Resiste’ Annual Convention’.

In 2011, Solstice Coil released its sophomore album, ‘Natural Causes’, under US-based label Melodic Revolution Records. Natural Causes fared well with the critics, receiving dozens of favorable reviews that cited it as a formidable follow-up to the band’s debut album.

In 2012 the band embarked on its first tour of India, playing various festivals such as Rendezvous, Synchronicity, and NH7, which featured veteran metal band Megadeth. After returning from India, the band commenced work on developing songs for its third album, Commute.

In this album, the band takes a stab at the epic while mixing classic progressive rock influences with heavy metal tendencies and even some elements of electronic music. Commute is also the first studio album to feature bassist Mihael Galperin and drummer Yakir Fitousi.

The album was produced and mixed by Shai Yallin and mastered by the legendary Jens Bogren (Opeth, Haken, Katatonia) at Fascination Street Studios. The cover illustration was created by upcoming artist Pavel Postovoit.

Commute is released under Tomer Pink’s record label Taklit Music, which recently released Subterranean Masquerade’s highly acclaimed album ‘The Great Bazaar’.

Solstice Coil - Commute01. New Eyes
02. Forget You Ever Saw Us
03. Shuffle the Cards
04. Her Silent Silhouette
05. Anywhere
06. The Bargain
07. Acid Bath
08. Meltdown
09. An Oldie (But Your Kids are Gonna Love it)
10. Nowhere

Main Website: Solstice Coil
Social Media: Facebook


Back to Top ↑