Romantic Warriors DVD

Romantic Warriors to release third Canterbury DVD

We reported back in June last year that the third film from the “Romantic Warriors – A Progressive Music Saga” documentary team of Adele Schmidt and José Zegarra is well under way. We are happy now to reveal that the two hour feature length documentary “Romantic Warriors III – Canterbury Tales” is scheduled for release in early April.

“Romantic Warriors III – Canterbury Tales” Documentary Official Trailer

The third film in the series guides you through the amazing history, development of the Canterbury Scene and its influence on contemporary bands. The emergence of the Canterbury Scene in the late 60s represents a remarkable period in the history of British progressive rock music; a breeding ground for world-class musicians of considerable harmonic and compositional sophistication. Over the years, with outside musicians joining Canterbury bands, new bands all over the world have emerged adopting the “Canterbury sound”.

The film highlights the following 60s/70s Canterbury Scene bands:
• Wilde Flowers (UK)
• Soft Machine (UK)
• Caravan (UK)
• Gong (France)
• Uriel (UK)
• Delivery (UK)
• Egg (UK)
• Matching Mole (UK)
• Hatfield and The North (UK)
• Gilgamesh (UK)
• National Health (UK)
• In Cahoots (UK)
• Quiet Sun (UK)
• Supersister (Netherlands)
• Moving Gelatine Plates (France)
• Forgas (France)
• Glass (USA)
• The Muffins (USA)

Among the musicians of the Canterbury Scene (that were active in the 70s), the following have been interviewed for the film:
Pye Hastings & Geoffrey Richardson, (Caravan) Dirk “Mont” Campbell (Uriel, Egg, National Health), Brian Hopper, (Wilde Flowers, Zobe), David Sinclair (Caravan, Hatfield and The North), Bill MacCormick (Matching Mole, Quiet Sun), Robert Jan Stips (SuperSister), Didier Malherbe (Gong) Phil Miller (Delivery, Hatfield and The North, National Health, In Cahoots), Roy Babbington (Nucleus, Delivery, Soft Machine), John Etheridge (Soft Machine), Didier Thibault (Moving Gelatine Plates), Patrick Forgas (Forgas), Benoit Moerlen (Gong, Pierre Moerlen’s Gong, Mike Oldfield’s Band, Gongzilla), Theo Travis (Soft Machine Legacy, Steven Wilson), David Newhouse (The Muffins), Richard Sinclair (Caravan, Hatfield & The North, Caravan of Dreams), and Daevid Allen (Gong, University of Errors).

Visit: ProgDocs.Com