The Gentle Storm - The Diary

The Gentle Storm premiere Endless Sea

Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon, Star One, Guilt Machine) & Anneke van Giersbergen (The Gathering, Devin Townsend Project) are set to release the debut album The Diary by their new band The Gentle Storm on March 23, and now they are pleased to reveal the first music to be taken from the album.

You can watch the lyric video for the track ‘Endless Sea’ (Storm version) here. You can also check out the Gentle version of ‘Endless Sea’:

Video courtesy of Team Rock & Century Media.

Anneke & Arjen had this to say: “Endless Sea is the album opener and it serves as an introduction to our story-based album. Susanne, the main character, sings about her busband Joseph, who has just sailed out on another long voyage to the Far East. We are very excited to offer everybody a first taste of our forthcoming album with the release of these lyric videos. This is such a special album to the both us.”

The album concept is a tale of love, loss, and separation told through the story of two fictional seventeenth-century lovers. A Dutch sailor embarks on a two-year voyage, leaving his wife at home in the Netherlands. The only way for the couple to communicate and keep their love alive during the long separation is through letters. These letters form the basis for the songs on the album.

The Gentle Storm are also pleased to announce that in advance of their full band shows, Arjen will join Anneke for a select few European live acoustic dates in what will be quite a rare and special occasion:

February 17 – Planetarium, Budapest HU
February 18 – Bronx, Istanbul TR
February 19 – Hard Rock Cafe, Bucharest RO
February 20 – Modern Theatre, Sofia BU
February 21 – Traffic Club, Rome
February 22 – K17, Berlin DE
February 23 – Nosturi, Helsinki FI
February 25 – Lo-Fi, Milan IT
February 26 – Locomotive, Bologna IT
February 27 – Hybrydy, Warsaw, PL
February 28 – Pod Minoga, Poznan PL

A full all-star band will go out without Arjen in March and April, and the confirmed dates and band line-up can be found below.

March 26 – Melkweg, Amsterdam NL
March 28 – ROCK ITtervoort Festival, Ittervoort NL
April 03 – Hedon, Zwolle NL
April 03-05 – Paaspop, Schijndel NL
April 11 – Paard van Troje, Den Haag NL
April 15 – Colos-Saal, Aschaffenburg DE
April 16 – Zentrum Altenberg, Oberhausen DE
April 22 – Divan Du Monde, Paris FR
April 23 – The Garage, London UK
April 24 – The Musician, Leicester UK
April 25 – The Roadhouse, Manchester UK
April 26 – Prog-résiste Convention, Soignies BE
June 19 – Dokk’em Open Air, Dokkum NL
July 09 – Masters of Rock, Vizovice CZ
July 30-Aug 01 – Wacken Open Air, Wacken DE

The Gentle Storm live:

Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering) – vocals
Merel Bechtold (Purest of Pain, MaYaN) – guitars
Ferry Duijsens (Anneke van Giersbergen, ex-Dreadlock Pussy) – guitars
Ed Warby (Hail of Bullets, Ayreon, ex-Gorefest) – drums
Johan van Stratum (Stream of Passion) – bass
Joost van den Broek (producer, ex-After Forever) – keyboards
Marcela Bovio (Stream of Passion) – background vocals

Source: Petting Zoo Propaganda