Featured Pink Floyd banner

Published on 22nd September 2014

Pink Floyd new album update

Article by:

The much talked about new Pink Floyd album, The Endless River, will be released on 10th November 2014. News first emerged back in July when Polly Samson tweeted: “Btw Pink Floyd album out in October is called “The Endless River”. Based on 1994 sessions is Rick Wright’s swansong and very beautiful.”

As mentioned the origins of the new release can be traced back to the Division Bell sessions and started to take form more recently when Dave Gilmour and Nick Mason made the decision that the music “should be made available as part of the Pink Floyd repertoire”.

“The Endless River has as its starting point the music that came from the 1993 Division Bell sessions, when David Gilmour, Rick Wright and Nick Mason played freely together at Britannia Row and Astoria studios. This was the first time they had done so since the ‘Wish You Were Here’ sessions in the seventies. Those sessions resulted in The Division Bell, the band’s last studio album.

In 2013 David Gilmour and Nick Mason revisited the music from those sessions and decided that the tracks should be made available as part of the Pink Floyd repertoire. It would be the last time the three of them would be heard together. The band have spent the last year recording and upgrading the music, using the advantages of modern studio technology to create The Endless River.

The Endless River is a tribute to Rick Wright, whose keyboards are at the heart of the Pink Floyd sound. It is a mainly instrumental album with one song, ‘Louder Than Words’, (with new lyrics by novelist Polly Samson), arranged across four sides and produced by David Gilmour, Phil Manzanera, Youth and
Andy Jackson.”

The album will be released as in Standard CD | Double Vinyl | Deluxe Box formats – full details can be found HERE


Side 1:
01 Things Left Unsaid
02 It’s What We Do
03 Ebb And Flow

Side 2:
04 Sum
05 Skins
06 Unsung
07 Anisina

Side 3:
08 The Lost Art of Conversation
09 On Noodle Street
10 Night Light
11 Allons-y (1)
12 Autumn’68
13 Allons-y (2)
14 Talkin’ Hawkin’

Side 4:
15 Calling
16 Eyes To Pearls
17 Surfacing
18 Louder Than Words


Back to Top ↑