Featured Engineers - Always Returning

Published on 27th August 2014

Engineers Always Returning released next month

Article by:

Engineers to release fourth album, Always Returning, on September 16 via Kscope. The UK shoegaze/dream pop outfit, currently comprised of multi-instrumentalist Mark Peters, celebrated German ambient artist/producer Ulrich Schnauss and London-based drummer and composer Matthew Linley, has been creating mesmerizing music with brilliantly shaded guitar textures and teasing lyrical ambiguities for over ten years across three albums – 2005’s debut Engineers (‘hypnotic lullabies from beautific Brit newcomers’ **** Q), 2009’s Three Fact Fader (‘a blistering statement of intent’ **** The Sunday Times), and 2010’s swift follow-up In Praise Of More (‘should be given to most UK bands as an example of in making an album that is a joy to behold.’ 8/10 **** Clash).

Written and recorded alone at home by Peters, before being coated with deft brush strokes of ambient electronica by Schnauss, Always Returning is a record that unhurriedly drifts in and out of focus, hinting at themes without ever making them so explicit that the listener can’t map out their own personal interpretations. It delivers an overall emotional heft that’s impossible to pull away from.

Engineers - Always Returning
01. Bless The Painter
02. Fight Or Flight
03. It Rings So True
04. Drive Your Car
05. Innsbruck
06. Searched For Answers
07. Smiling Back
08. A Million Voices
09. Smoke And Mirrors
10. Always Returning

Three Fact Fader – 2009
In Praise Of More – 2010
To An Evergreen (EP) – 2011
Always Returning – 2014


Back to Top ↑