Martin Bar..." /> Martin Barre new album update – The Progressive Aspect – TPA

Featured Martin Barre

Published on 8th August 2014

Martin Barre new album update

Article by:

Martin Barre has announced the release of a new album Order Of Play featuring studio versions of classic Tull songs performed by his live band. The album, in digipak format, is scheduled for release on 29th September 2014 on Edifying Records and through RSK.

“In January 2013, we headlined a festival in Somerset, UK. We wanted a live CD to be a summary of the last two years of our work and this was the idea opportunity. Fans had kept asking for a CD version of the show, but rather than record an actual gig, thought we would do something better and record ‘live in a studio’, with all the energy of a show but with the best sound quality possible. So, with the band in one place, and a couple of “days off” – explains Martin.  “We met at Middle Farm Studio the next morning, set the back-line up as we do onstage, with Dan in a booth, as he, rightly, felt that it was important to record all his vocals live.  It was really important to keep the feel and continuity the same as a live gig. By the end of the day, we had all the songs finished.”

Martin Barre is one of the most influential and respected guitarists in classic rock history. His sound was recognized as a major factor in Jethro Tull’s success, they went on to sell over 60 million albums worldwide. Martin has worked with many other artists including Paul McCartney, Phil Collins, Gary Moore, Joe Bonamassa and Chris Thompson and has shared a stage with such legends as Hendrix, Fleetwood Mac, Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin. Over the past two years, Barre has performed live, some of Jethro Tull’s most loved classics, winning praise from both critics and fans.

Next to Barre, in charge of guitar and mandolin, we find an array of like-minded musicians including Dan Crisp on vocals, acoustic guitar and bouzouki, drummer George Lindsay, Richard Beesley on saxophone and clarinet who is one of London’s most versatile session players, having played with Michael Bublé, Mark Ronson, the Funk Brothers and The Supremes among others. Bassist Alan Thomson is also a long term member of John Martyn’s Band and an accomplished song writer, with credits including Robert Palmer, Rick Wakeman, and Bo Diddley.

Martin Barre - Order Of Play
01. New Day Yesterday
02. Fatman
03. Watch Your Step
04. Crossroads
05. Minstrel In The Gallery
06. To Cry You A Song
07. Steal Your Heart Away
08. Thick As A Brick (Excerpt)
09. Sweet Dream
10. Song For Jeffrey
11. Rock Me Baby
12. Teacher
13. Still Loving You Tonight
14. Locomotive Breath

Martin Barre – Guitar & Mandolin
Dan Crisp – Vocals, Acoustic Guitar & Bouzouki
Richard Beesley – Saxophone & Clarinet
Alan Thomson – Bass
George Lindsay – Drums

Martin and band will be touring the UK and Europe throughout 2014 and into next year – click HERE for TPA’s post including all dates. The UK dates can be found in TPA’s comprehensive GigGuide

Source: The Publicity Connection


Back to Top ↑