Featured Focus

Published on 15th February 2014

Focus re-record classic tracks

Article by:

Legendary Dutch band Focus have revisited and re-recorded some over their classic tracks for the release of the 11th studio album. Golden Oldies features the current Focus line-up of Thijs Van Leer, Pierre Van Der Linden, Bobby Jacobs and Menno Gootjes – and will be released on 14th April 2014 through the Cherry Red label.

Focus has been performing select shows in support of their forthcoming 11th album ‘Golden Oldies’, which features re-recordings of classic Focus tracks.

Thijs explains, “Producing ‘Golden Oldies’ is tricky. Both the die hard fans and the 2014 Focus-members were having doubts about this enterprise, because we didn’t know if the recent recordings would match the original material, notwithstanding the fact that we had so much fun in doing the session, quick, romantic, virtuoso, full of funny moments & profoundness; But… the final mix turns out to be fantastic and we all are proud to release this album at our earliest convenience!!”

Source: Glass Onyon PR


01. Hocus Pocus
02. Tommy
03. House Of The King
04. Focus 1
05. Sylvia
06. Focus 3 & 2
07. Aya-Yuppie-Hippie-Yee
08. Neurotika
09. Brother

Focus have recently announced a series of UK gigs in support of the new album. Please visit the TPA ProgGuide for all the dates…

Recently Focus’ Hocus Pocus was featured in the major motion picture ‘RoboCop’ starring Samuel L. Jackson, Gary Oldman and Michael Keaton.


Back to Top ↑