Featured Matt Stevens ~ Lucid

Published on 12th February 2014

Matt Stevens releases new solo album

Article by:

Matt Stevens is set to release his fourth solo album, Lucid, on 31 March 2014 through the Esoteric Antenna label. These are busy times for Matt, having late last year released the critically acclaimed Spooky Action with The Fierce And The Dead (read the TPA review HERE) and continues to gig constantly. Visit the TPA ProgGuide for a list of current dates…

Esoteric Recordings full press release for Lucid:

Esoteric Antenna is pleased to announce the release of the new album by acclaimed guitarist MATT STEVENS. Noted for his work as both a solo artist and as a member of Fierce and The Dead, “Lucid” sees Matt joined by a host of guest musicians including drummer Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson), Bass guitarists Lorenzo Feliciati (Naked Truth), Charlie Cawood (Knifeworld) and Kev Feazey, keyboard players Jem Godfrey (Frost) and Emmett Elvin (Chrome Hoof / Guapo), violinist Chrissie Caulfield (Helicopter Quartet / Crippled Black Phoenix), vibe player Jon Hart and Nicholas Wyatt Duke (Trojan Horse) on Spoken Word.

Speaking about his new album Matt states; “Lucid took three years as I really wanted to make this one a significant step up from the previous albums. It’s inspired by a bit of a dark time, but hopefully it’s an uplifting record. I’m so proud of the people who played on it, working with people like Pat Mastelotto on drums from King Crimson and Jem Godfrey from Frost* was amazing but all the players really were outstanding. Stuart Marshall (Fierce And The Dead) and Charlie Cawood (Knifeworld) were the rhythm section for a lot of the tracks. And it was great to have Chrissie back who played violin on the previous records. It’s a record that reflects my love of Jesu and Celtic Frost as much as the Mahavishnu Orchestra and King Crimson or even Peter Gabriel and I’m really proud of it. If you’re not going to take risks and try and do something interesting what’s the point?”

As befits this most unique musician, “Lucid” is a carefully crafted work, and one that is surely to be one of the Progressive Rock highlights of 2014.

01. Oxymoron
02. Flow
03. Unsettled
04. The Other Side
05. The Ascent
06. Coulrophobia
07. Lucid
08. KEA
09. Street and Circus
10. The Bridge
11. A Boy

Source: Esoteric Recordings


Back to Top ↑